down up

every time you breathe a grown-up dies


2005-12-14 ~ 9:03 p.m.

A typical day at work. I did an hour or 2's work, I ate lots of sweeties, I wrote a program to solve Sudoku puzzles, and I read Peter Pan.

With Xmas approaching, all our suppliers are busy sending us bribes, ahem, I mean gifts of the chocolaty variety. And while I understand that, I don't understand why the wives of people who work here make sweets and cake for us.

I'm not really sure if the Sudoku program works, since I only tested it on one puzzle and couldn't really be bothered to check that the result was correct (though at least it wasn't 999999999 999999999 999999999...)

I'd never read Peter Pan before (and I was breaking copyright law reading the online text in the UK), but I was impressed by how entertaining and well-written it is, packed with fun. Also there's the theme about how horrible children are, utterly selfish, with the boastful, forgetful Peter the worst of all. I'm not quite sure what effect it would have reading this story to your children and telling them over and over again how heartless they are, but I guess the parents still love them. It's probably not a good idea to read a story with a sad ending in the office when you're a big crybaby like me (is it a sad ending? I'll leave that to the literary critics).

Two days work left before I'm on holiday. Or to be more accurate, till I'm lying in bed until I get a headache, then getting up and getting drunk.

In case you haven't noticed, I wish I was still a little kid.

Off we skip like the most heartless things in the world, which is what children are, but so attractive; and we have an entirely selfish time, and then when we have need of special attention we nobly return for it, confident that we shall be rewarded instead of smacked.

Also, much like the life of an internet diarist.

0 comments so far

notes

Finally found someone I love more than the rain - 2013-09-17
Taxi driver, be my shrink for the hour, leave the meter running - 2013-08-29
Dear friend, I cannot tell the reason why we started well - 2013-08-06
I saw this movie one time called Imitation of Life. The movie was really kind of shitty but I loved the title. - 2013-07-12
Catch the bus by half past three otherwise you'll find you're walking home - 2013-07-10

mail note tunes cabbages sprouts

days of yore space year 3000

NYRB LRB Guardian Popjustice Missprint Popbitch Playlouder Honest facade Straight Dope Bad Science Ehrenreich Overheard in NY BPS Research Digest Engadget B3ta Britney's naked cat-a-phone Filmhouse S1play IMDb Everyhit LJ Periodic videos Photoshop disasters iylismwdyglt?


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!