down up

You cannot beget all the sins that you owe to the people of paradise magic


2005-12-17 ~ 8:02 p.m.

Scottish kids are the fattest in the world! Go us!

I've had nightmares for the past 2 nights. Surely Christmas isn't that stressful. I can't remember what I dreamt about on Thursday. But last night's double feature began with an exciting story about small white pods trying to take over the world by means of evil tendril things. I think it was influenced by Buffy. Then I had a full-scale epic cinematic thing obviously inspired by fantasy games and stuff, complete with wizards, demons, poison, and me running around being scared a lot before getting my soul zapped by a cute girl-thief.

Holiday from work. Basic plan is to do fuck all Saturday, then maybe cautiously plan a bit of shopping, hair cut etc. I did go to the supermarket and bought lots of junk food, which'll go nicely with the bottle of Bailey's I got last time I was there. Party at mine!

I'm also working on a Christmas/winter themed compilation CD for my brother (I will get him a proper Xmas present as well). The approximate track listing, not necessarily in order, is:

Vic Godard - Nice on the Ice
Vic Godard - Holiday Hymn
Cristina - Things fall apart
Ramones - Merry Christmas (I Don't Want To Fight Tonight)
Waitresses - Christmas Rapping
Half Man Half Biscuit - It's Cliched to be Cynical at Christmas
Nico - Winter Song
Baby Bird - Planecrash Xmas
Elliott Smith - Angel in the Snow
Belle and Sebastian - Fox in the Snow
Nick Cave - Fifteen Feet of Pure White Snow
Al Stewart - Out In The Snow
Laura Veirs - Snow Camping
British Sea Power - Oh Larsen B
John Cale - Child's Christmas In Wales
Edward Healy-Hutchinson - Theme from Box of Delights
James Chance - Christmas with Satan
X-Ray Spex - Warrior in Woolworths
Pop Group - We Are All Prostitutes

and possibly

Vanilla Ice - Ice Ice Baby

Of course, any other suggestions gratefully received (in my metaphorical grate of my Christmas fire). I'm sure there's a Thin White Rope xmas song, that I can't remember and don't have.


POP NEWS +++ POP NEWS +++ POP NEWS +++ POP NEWS

I've been going through my recently-purchased Magazine library. The Correct Use of Soap is probably Magazine's finest album, but one thing keeps it on the wrong side of the fence between good albums and classics. It is lacking illustrations (or maybe even an essay) explaining the usage of the title. It credits "Aesthetic images: Malcom (sic) Garret (sic)" but Malco(l)m didn't provide any actual pictures, just trendy typography. Surely it wouldn't have been too much of a strain for him.

I saw a poster saying "Life In David Gray Slow Motion". I'm sure that's pretty much what life in David Gray is like.

Except, when you're young, pretending to be in slow motion is fun (6 million dollar man, etc) and I can't imagine the child who'd imagine he or she was inside a tedious adult-folk-rock singer.

PS: everybody's favourite oral sex euphemism Journey South are covering I Won't Let the Sun Go Down On Me on the X Factor.

EDIT: To fill the world with Xmas spirit, I've put up a 5-year-old story I wrote, The King of Christmas. The cultural references will make no sense (it's actually set in 1995, though written in 2000). But it's heartwarming. I'm not writing a heartwarming story this year.

0 comments so far

notes

Finally found someone I love more than the rain - 2013-09-17
Taxi driver, be my shrink for the hour, leave the meter running - 2013-08-29
Dear friend, I cannot tell the reason why we started well - 2013-08-06
I saw this movie one time called Imitation of Life. The movie was really kind of shitty but I loved the title. - 2013-07-12
Catch the bus by half past three otherwise you'll find you're walking home - 2013-07-10

mail note tunes cabbages sprouts

days of yore space year 3000

NYRB LRB Guardian Popjustice Missprint Popbitch Playlouder Honest facade Straight Dope Bad Science Ehrenreich Overheard in NY BPS Research Digest Engadget B3ta Britney's naked cat-a-phone Filmhouse S1play IMDb Everyhit LJ Periodic videos Photoshop disasters iylismwdyglt?


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!