down up

I'm in love with the way you hold your head and cry


2005-12-10 ~ 4:57 p.m.

Woo. Lots of shopping today and all for me. I got tickets for Bonnie Prince Billie in April and Mr John Cale next month. And I went to the bookshop and got Kafka's The Castle and Hugo's Les Miserables (1200 pages, twice the length of Notre Dame de Paris!). Since The Castle is about 1/6th the length of Les Mis, I might read it first. (I also ordered Mysterious Skin and a Robert Walser anthology off Amazon.)

Alex "Fame Academy" Parks still hasn't sold out her show on Wednesday in the 600-capacity Liquid Room (Edinburgh). I almost think I should go just to take pity on her. I'm sure she'll be very nice. (Any other volunteers?) Next year, Joan Collins is doing "An Evening with Joan Collins" here in a rather bigger venue.

I was going to get my hair cut today, but then it'd look like I only got it cut for the work Xmas dinner. (Full report to come, including details of chicory, unless nothing actually happens.)

Exactly what kind of parent would buy their child Electronic Spin The Bottle for Christmas? I mean I'd like it, but still...

There was a thing in the Guardian about "turduckens" (turkeys stuffed with chickens stuffed with ducks, or vice versa). Apparently they don't taste that nice, just like a big nondescript lump of poultry. But you can buy 4-bird versions in Waitrose. I may be vegetarian, but I think one day a year everybody should be allowed to eat swan. And possibly albatross and parrot and thrush.

I think one day in my December holiday I should endeavour to spend the entire day watching old/dodgy American sitcoms. Rise with Frasier and Everybody Loves Raymond, then That Seventies Show, Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Hope and Faith, Home Improvement, 8 Simple Rules, Veronica's Closet, Scrubs, Less Than Perfect, Mork and Mindy, Will and Grace, Roseanne, Futurama, Zoey 101, into an evening of Cheers, Seinfeld, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, What I Like About You, Two and a Half Men, Friends, and finishing with Mad About You and Ellen. What would be the effect on my psychic state after 16 or 17 hours of that?

I've been listening to a lot of The Only Ones lately. I can't help thinking that Peter Perrett was almost the Pete Docherty of his time (though Perrett sounds more like Steve Harley with throat cancer.)

Shameless linkage of monkeon's joke from b3ta:

Hull's all done with mirrors from the mainland

0 comments so far

notes

Finally found someone I love more than the rain - 2013-09-17
Taxi driver, be my shrink for the hour, leave the meter running - 2013-08-29
Dear friend, I cannot tell the reason why we started well - 2013-08-06
I saw this movie one time called Imitation of Life. The movie was really kind of shitty but I loved the title. - 2013-07-12
Catch the bus by half past three otherwise you'll find you're walking home - 2013-07-10

mail note tunes cabbages sprouts

days of yore space year 3000

NYRB LRB Guardian Popjustice Missprint Popbitch Playlouder Honest facade Straight Dope Bad Science Ehrenreich Overheard in NY BPS Research Digest Engadget B3ta Britney's naked cat-a-phone Filmhouse S1play IMDb Everyhit LJ Periodic videos Photoshop disasters iylismwdyglt?


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!