down up

Port in Hong Kong


2006-04-10 ~ 1:02 a.m.

I was watching the video for Pink's Stupid Girls, trying to see in the plastic surgery scene what's written on the arrow pointing to her crotch. It says "RECONSTRUCT->" Part of me says, "Pink=meh", but part of me says "Either that or Bratz dolls; the young women need sexy women who can sing and still say fuck you." I guess Pink is closer to solution than problem (next week: Betty Boo, hero or villain?). And I hope she doesn't get her labia reconstructed.

I'm really annoyed about a TV commercial which I shouldn't be. Ignore it all. But A Smile and a Ribbon advertising National Lottery. Normally I don't care about songs being used in ads, whether it's Devendra Banhart selling cheese or Maximo Park doing Playstation (or something like that), but somehow this stupid children's song, which seems to sum up the whole of Ghost World, really pisses me off. The betrayal of childhood innocence.

Pub Quiz tonight. I'd like to declare my love for the barmaids of the Wally Dug, since I'm unlikely to go back there. The punky girl with the nosering and curly bleached-blonde hair is lovely (and from St Louis which is in an excellent state I believe) but particularly I love the English girl, who was one of the types I really love, no makeup or haircare, just long mousy hair and looking far too intelligent for us all (but also she knew what we wanted to drink. I love her still. Reminds me of Kerri in Sudan; if she could stop a genocide, she would.)

Meanwhile, question on the most glamourous women as voted for by New Woman magazine. We went for Greta Garbo, Rita Hayworth, and Bettie Page. They went for Angelina Jolie, Catherine Zeta Jones, Scarlett Johansen. I think we win.

Playlist

Wire - Outdoor Miner
Psychedelic Furs - Pretty In Pink
X Ray Spex - Germ Free Adolescents
Vapours - Turning Japanese
Undertones - You've Got My Number
Television Personalities - The Crying Room
Cars - Just What I've Needed
Rezillos - Flying Saucer Attack
Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop
Minutemen - Do You Want New Wave Or Do You Want The Truth
Martha And The Muffins - Echo Beach
Magazine - A Song From Under The Floorboards
Lene Lovich - Lucky Number
Johnny Thunders -You Can't Put Your Arm Around A Memory
Gary Numan - Cars
Clash - I'm So Bored With The USA
Buzzcocks - Boredom
Au Pairs - It's Obvious

I went to see Pierrepoint. It kind of fell in the same category as Vera Drake, ie films they should have showed us at school. It's complete social history, but also the best ever argument against the death penalty, purely because it doesn't try to argue against the death penalty, and indeed shows the finest and kindest hangman ever. Killing people is monstrous, no matter how you do it. And the film has a very English quality, that the British tried to do it more civilised than anybody, but no matter how noble Albert Pierrepoint was, he could not deny the fact that he was killing people. I still think he was a hero of sorts, by trying to kill people as kindly as possible (dustmen are heroes too), but Britain by abolishing hanging was trying to be a more civilised country, back in the 1960s, and I wish we would follow that path today.

0 comments so far

notes

Finally found someone I love more than the rain - 2013-09-17
Taxi driver, be my shrink for the hour, leave the meter running - 2013-08-29
Dear friend, I cannot tell the reason why we started well - 2013-08-06
I saw this movie one time called Imitation of Life. The movie was really kind of shitty but I loved the title. - 2013-07-12
Catch the bus by half past three otherwise you'll find you're walking home - 2013-07-10

mail note tunes cabbages sprouts

days of yore space year 3000

NYRB LRB Guardian Popjustice Missprint Popbitch Playlouder Honest facade Straight Dope Bad Science Ehrenreich Overheard in NY BPS Research Digest Engadget B3ta Britney's naked cat-a-phone Filmhouse S1play IMDb Everyhit LJ Periodic videos Photoshop disasters iylismwdyglt?


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!