down up

Back home though they think we're the greatest that's what we've got to prove


2005-12-11 ~ 9:15 p.m.

Drunken late-night entries are not really the thing when it comes to balanced critical analysis. The chicory tatin was pretty crap though; I don't know if I'm the only person who was raised in large part on a diet of stews/casseroles that incorporated lots of soggy celery and pies with soggy pastry, but childhood flashback. Basically the tatin was an upside-down pie entirely full of soggy chicory. Actually the pastry wasn't soggy enough for my tastes. The starter was goats cheese in pastry, which is piss easy to make.

Later we did the traditional work-night-out staying out as late as possible; me and 2 others managed till 3am, finishing up in Pivo which is about 4 minutes walk from flat (even when drunk), so that was convenient. I was quite hungover in this morning, though I blame that on dehydration caused by the restaurant being as hot as a Pop Tart in Africa.

We never got a speech either, which is obviously in one sense a good thing, but we still felt cheated.

Serious shortage of quality Xmas records this year. Even that JCB song is terrible without the video. Sugababes not at their best. Charlotte Church should be able to storm this genre, but her song's all stupid title ("Even God Can't Change The Past" - I'm not sure if Stephen Hawking has given an opinion on that) and no tune. I guess it's Westlife or nothing. (I swear Will Young's taking fashion tips from Bros: white shirt, waistcoat, jeans. I guess we'll all be wearing that by next Xmas.)

Crazy Frog has 2 albums out. But that's not the worst Christmas release, not by a long way. No: G4 covering Christina Ag's Beautiful. How to turn a classic anthem of female empowerment (or alternatively: one of the empress of skank's blander moments) into something that sounds like Cliff Richard after a particularly depressing spell of 9-day tennis-related rain. Or if I'm not being clear, it's really extraordinarily not good at all.

I know someone from Trinidad who's quite excited about the World Cup draw. I'm sure I'm really Paraguayan. I always go into this kind of thing thinking "Yes I'll support England", but then as the horrors of Wayne Rooney and the fans and the pundits and newspapers sweep up, all my fellow-feeling vanishes. I guess I could support Australia, or Spain (being as I'm 1/8th Spanish allegedly) but Spain are a bit shit these days and Australia are ... well ... Is there an Iranian world cup song? Is it any good?

Iran! Iran!
We're better than Japan!
I don't see Pakistan
Tajikistan
Or Oman
On the autobahn!

If they'll record that (with New Order preferably, plus a video directed by Abbas Kiarostami including a ten-minute tracking shot of the team bus on a winding road) I think we'll all have a new team to follow*. Seriously though, who's doing England's? As long as it doesn't involve Keith Allen, The Spice Girls or David Baddiel. Or any singing or music or rapping or being recorded or released or written or dreamt about and sung into tape-recorders.

Amazon recommended Klaus Nomi to me! I must buy the coolest things. Except "Customers interested in this title may also be interested in: * Tahitian Noni Juice-Organic Certified Tahitian Noni Juice from under �15 a Bottle Delivered. Fantastic Value. Next Day Delivery by Courier. www.naturaljuices.co.uk." (I think they're bluffing.) It also keeps recommending calendars of scantily-clad men.

How could YOU vote Brenda out of the X Factor, and put through Journey South, surely the lamest euphemism for oral sex in the history of popular music?

*Except they knocked Scotland out of the 1974 world cup. But if I followed the same logic, I couldn't even support Costa Rica (we beat Sweden that year though).

0 comments so far

notes

Finally found someone I love more than the rain - 2013-09-17
Taxi driver, be my shrink for the hour, leave the meter running - 2013-08-29
Dear friend, I cannot tell the reason why we started well - 2013-08-06
I saw this movie one time called Imitation of Life. The movie was really kind of shitty but I loved the title. - 2013-07-12
Catch the bus by half past three otherwise you'll find you're walking home - 2013-07-10

mail note tunes cabbages sprouts

days of yore space year 3000

NYRB LRB Guardian Popjustice Missprint Popbitch Playlouder Honest facade Straight Dope Bad Science Ehrenreich Overheard in NY BPS Research Digest Engadget B3ta Britney's naked cat-a-phone Filmhouse S1play IMDb Everyhit LJ Periodic videos Photoshop disasters iylismwdyglt?


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!